The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) held its yearly awards show on Monday in New York City. The event honours key figures in the enormous American fashion industry, including designers, stylists, celebrities, and this year, even the UN.

Image Credit: BFA

Thanks to Instagram, you’ve surely seen some highlights of the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards that took place at Cipriani South Street on Monday. The event, which also celebrated the CFDA’s 60th anniversary, was hosted by Natasha Lyonne and featured designers Joseph Altuzarra, Gabriela Hearst, Aurora James, Lazaro Hernandez, and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler.

The CFDA Awards Guild, which is mainly composed of CFDA members, esteemed fashion writers, stylists, and top retail executives, voted on this year’s winners, which included the customary mix of honorees we are aware of in advance and winners revealed on the night.

The American Womenswear Designer of the Year award, which was given out by Christina Ricci, was given to Catherine Holstein of KHAITE, who was ecstatic to receive it. KHAITE defeated nominees Peter Do, Gabriela Hearst, LaQuan Smith, and Christopher John Rogers.

In attendance to present Emily Adams Bode Aujla of Bode with the American Menswear Designer of the Year award was Trevor Noah. The American Accessory Designer of the Year award was given to Raul Lopez of LUAR by Joel Kim Booster. The American Emerging Designer Award went to Elena Velez, who accepted it from Keke Palmer.

Then there were the celebrities… In honour of Eugenia Sheppard, Cher presented the Media Award to stylist Patti Wilson to begin the ceremony. Cher appeared on stage twice throughout the evening; she subsequently returned with her goddaughter Jesse Jo Stark to present Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

Stylist Law Roach gave one of the evening’s most memorable speeches after being awarded the first-ever Stylist Award by Kerry Washington. Roach revealed that he watched the 2016 CFDA Awards at Hammerstein Ballroom from the kitchen while Zendaya accepted an invitation from Michael Kors to attend. Roach added, “I sat and observed from the kitchen as the waiters served your food and beverages. “One day, I’m going to be on that stage, I told myself. I serve as living proof that anything is possible. Indeed.

Image Credit: BFA

Lenny Kravitz received the Fashion Icon award from Bradley Cooper and Martha Stewart awarded SKIMS with the first-ever Innovation Award from Amazon Fashion, which was accepted by Kim Kardashian, Emma Grede, and Jens Grede were two other highlights of the evening. Except for Kourtney, the whole Kardashian/Jenner family was there to support Kim on her big night.

The other winners for the evening were The House of Slay, which is consisted of Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William, who won The Founder’s Award from Anna Wintour in honour of Eleanor Lambert, Jeffrey Banks, who won the Special Anniversary Award from Stan Herman, and The United Nations, who won the Environmental Sustainability Award from Amber Valletta. The posthumous Board of Trustee’s Award was also accepted by Shannon Abloh on behalf of her late husband, Virgil Abloh.

Published by Holr Magazine.