The Hollywood Foreign Press Association awarded two motion pictures on the 78th Golden Globes. These films were “The Life Ahead” and “Soul”. But what are they about? Who are the people behind these awards?

Radio Duna (October 2020)

The Life Ahead

This motion picture won the award for Best Original Song for its piece “Io Si (Seen)”, beating “Speak Now” from “One Night in Miami”, “Fight for You”, from “Judas and the Black Messiah”, “Hear My Voice” from “The Trial of the Chicago 7″, and “Tigress & Tweed” from “The United States vs. Billie Holiday”.

Laura Pausini interpreted this song and composed it along with Diane Warren and Niccolò Agliardi, especially for this Netflix movie. “It’s such a beautiful story about unseen people who are seen through love, and that’s what inspired this song”, said Warren in her virtual speech accepting the award.

The Life Ahead is a story about a Holocaust survivor on seaside Italy, who runs a daycare business and decides to take in a 12-year-old street kid that robbed her not long ago. It was directed by Edoardo Ponti and starred Sophia Loren.

Global News (December 2020)


This amazing Disney’s motion picture won the award for Best Original Score. Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste received this Golden Globe. The rest of the nominees were “The Midnight Sky” – Alexandre Desplat, “Mank” – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, “News of the World” – James Newton Howard and “Tenet” – Ludwig Göransson.

Reznor and Ross mentioned in an interview with Heroic Hollywood that the movie’s soundtrack is “not of this Earth”. “Our studio (…) is filled with a variety of real, imagined and synthetic instruments, and [we] spent the first chunk of time experimenting with different arrangements and different instruments and seeing what felt emotionally right to create the fabric of this world” added Reznor.

Soul is about a New York pianist and teacher that finds himself caught in the middle of an unknown land between life and the afterlife, just before he is chosen to give the gig of his life. Directed by Pete Docter and Kemp Powers, starring the voices of Jaime Foxx, Tina Fey and Graham Norton.