The Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards (CAFA) is an event created to recognize and celebrate outstanding achievement and emerging talent in Canadian fashion.

HOLR was able to attend the annual CAFA Nominees Reception held on Thursday March 7th in Toronto at the Artscape Daniels Launchpad, showcasing many names and emerging talents within the fashion industry.

Photographer: Isabella Pugiotto


Here are the categories and nominees for the 2019 CAFA Awards:

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, Fashion


  • Andrew Coimbra
  • École de Pensée
  • Kathryn Bowen
  • Marie-Éve Lecavalier
  • Nonie


Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, Accessories


  • Corey Moranis
  • Warren Steven Scott
  • Angela Mitchell
  • Jessica Bedard
  • JY Gao


Photographer: Isabella Pugiotto

Fresh Face of the Year:

  • Alyssah Paccoud
  • Cami You-Ten
  • Know Kian
  • Mathieu Simoneau
  • Sara Kemper

Model of the Year:

  • Hannah Donker
  • Judith Maria Bradley
  • Mae Lapres
  • Rachel Roberts
  • Tasha Tilberg

Photographer: Isabella Pugiotto


Joe Fresh Fashion Innovation Award: 

  • Mejuri
  • Focals by North
  • Tiary
  • TypeSift

Fashion Impact Award:

  • Brave Soles
  • MATT & NAT
  • Ron White Shoes
  • Sarah Jay
  • With Love Darling
  • Wuxly

Digital Fashion Influencer of the Year: 

  • Dani Roche
  • Fecal MAtter
  • Grâce Ghanem
  • Kayla Seah
  • Julia Mateian

Outwear Brand of the Year 

  • Kanuk
  • Mackage
  • Moose Knuckles
  • Nobis
  • Sentaler

Accessory Designer of the Year 

  • Biko
  • Dean Davison
  • MATT & NAT
  • Mejuri
  • Pyrrha

Makeup Artist of the Year 

  • Grace Lee
  • Hung Vanngo
  • Leslie-Ann Thomson
  • Nicolas Blanchet
  • Simone Otis


Photographer: Isabella Pugiotto

Hair Artist of the Year

  • Andrew Ly
  • David D’Amours
  • Harry Josh
  • Kirsten Klontz
  • Matthew Collins

Image-maker of the Year

  • Carlyle Routh
  • D. Picard
  • Greg Swales
  • Max Abadian
  • Owen Bruce

Stylist of the Year 

  • Cary Tauben
  • Corey Ng
  • Juliana Schiavinatto
  • Nadia Pizzimenti
  • Randy Smith

Simons Fashion Design Student Award 

  • Cynthia Leung
  • Marie-Eve Aubry
  • Marysol Kim
  • Meron Kebebe
  • Justine Woods


Photographer: Isabella Pugiotto


H&M Sustainability Award

  • Eliza Faulkner
  • Preloved
  • KOTN
  • Frank and Oak

Menswear of the Year 

  • Christopher Bates
  • Frank and Oak
  • Raised by Wolves
  • 18 Waits

Womenswear of the Year 

  • Ellie Mae Studios
  • Greta Constantine
  • LINE
  • Sid Neigum


The CAFA Gala takes place at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto, on April May 30th.


For more on the event and tickets, visit the website at

For more on fashion, events, and culture — follow us @HOLRMagazine.